‘The Wilderness Party’ by A. B. Jackson

Coming twelve years after A. B. Jackson’s Forward-Prize-winning first collection Fire Stations (Anvil, 2003), The Wilderness Party is, as the blurb says, a ‘long-awaited follow-up’. Comprising three sections — ‘Acts’, ‘Natural History’ and ‘Apocrypha’ — this last a twenty-one-part sequence published as a limited edition pamphlet by Donut Press in 2011 — The Wilderness Party […]

‘Tonguit’ by Harry Giles

Tonguit is Harry Giles’ first full-length collection. Shortlisted for the 2014 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and currently for the 2016 Forward Prize for best first collection, it follows his two previously-published pamphlets Visa Wedding and Oam. Composed, variously, in what Giles describes as a ‘mongrel and magpie’ blend of English, Orcadian and Scots, Tonguit is […]

All pages © 2007-2021 the Association for Scottish Literary Studies and the individual contributors. | The Bottle Imp logo © 2007-2021 the Association for Scottish Literary Studies. For information on reproducing these pages for purposes other than personal use, please contact the editors. | Logo design by Iain McIntosh | Website by Pooka.